Databases are a great place to start your search for scholarly articles since they provide the opportunity to search across a huge number of publications at once. A list of databases relevant to Nursing and Health Sciences can be found at the bottom of this page.
TIP: When using the databases, try BOOLEAN searching.
Boolean describes the connecting word you use between your search terms such as AND, OR, & NOT. Using these connectors allows you the ability to link search terms, so you can find articles that address multiple subjects.
These options are sometimes found in drop down menus where you enter your search terms, or you will have to enter them yourself between terms. In EBSCO databases, you can find Boolean terms in drop down menus to the left of the fields where you enter your search terms.
Adding OR between search terms will search for all records with one term OR the other (this is a broader search tool).
Using AND between words will search for all records with BOTH or ALL search terms applied.
If you use NOT between the terms, it will search for the FIRST word in your search string and NOT the other.
Includes CINAHL Plus with Full Text and Health Source: Nursing Academic Edition.
Thousands of full text articles from scholarly journals in Nursing and Allied Health.
Nursing & Allied Health Database
Provides users with reliable healthcare information covering nursing, allied health professions, alternative and complimentary medicine, and much more.
Gale OneFile: Nursing and Allied Health
Research full-text titles cited in CINAHL and other resources to support specialized care, treatment, and patient management.
Search a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to alternative medical practices.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine
Provides access to medical and professional periodicals, health and fitness magazines, and reference books and pamphlets.
Health Research Premium Collection
Health Research Premium Collection serves a wide range of users with a broad collection of journals, evidence-based resources, and full-text dissertations, and includes the top ProQuest health and medical databases.
ProQuest Health Management is designed to meet the needs of researchers studying the field of health administration. It provides the most reliable and relevant information on a wide range of topics, including: public health administration, business management, personnel management, health economics, insurance, law, statistics, and ethics.
MEDLINE is a bibliographic database produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. The database contains millions of citations, derived from thousands of biomedical and life science journals.
ProQuest Public Health is designed to be the ideal starting point for public health information and research. It delivers core public health literature with centralized access to over 800 publications with over 500 in full text.
Gale OneFile: Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine
Access academic journals and magazines covering the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine.
ProQuest SciTech Premium Collection
The SciTech Premium Collection includes the Natural Science Collection and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.
