Databases are a great place to start your search for scholarly articles since they provide the opportunity to search across a huge number of publications at once. A list of databases relevant to Criminal Justice can be found at the bottom of this page.
TIP: When using the databases, try BOOLEAN searching.
Boolean describes the connecting word you use between your search terms such as AND, OR, & NOT. Using these connectors allows you the ability to link search terms, so you can find articles that address multiple subjects.
These options are sometimes found in drop down menus where you enter your search terms, or you will have to enter them yourself between terms. In EBSCO databases, you can find Boolean terms in drop down menus to the left of the fields where you enter your search terms.
Adding OR between search terms will search for all records with one term OR the other (this is a broader search tool).
Using AND between words will search for all records with BOTH or ALL search terms applied.
If you use NOT between the terms, it will search for the FIRST word in your search string and NOT the other.
Gale OneFile: Criminal Justice
Comprehensive periodical content for researchers studying law, law enforcement, forensic science, terrorism, and more.
Collection of databases with ebooks and thousands of full text articles from journals, magazines, newspapers, including many Criminal Justice titles.
Search all the ProQuest periodical and research databases in one place.
Interdisciplinary database with thousands of full text articles from academic journals, including Criminal Justice.
Thousands of full text articles from general interest magazines.
College level information on a variety of hot topics.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, and more.
Access major U.S. and international newspapers online to search articles by title, headline, date, or other fields.
Gale OneFile: Popular Magazines
Access the most searched magazines across Gale OneFile focusing on current events, sports, science, and health issues.
Gale PowerSearch is s search platform unlike any other, providing libraries with a sophisticated, yet simple solution for managing a wealth of periodical, reference, multimedia, and primary source information.
