Databases are a great place to start your search for scholarly articles since they provide the opportunity to search across a huge number of publications at once. A list of databases relevant to history can be found at the bottom of this page.
TIP: When using the databases, try BOOLEAN searching.
Boolean describes the connecting word you use between your search terms such as AND, OR, & NOT. Using these connectors allows you the ability to link search terms, so you can find articles that address multiple subjects.
These options are sometimes found in drop down menus where you enter your search terms, or you will have to enter them yourself between terms. In EBSCO databases, you can find Boolean terms in drop down menus to the left of the fields where you enter your search terms.
Adding OR between search terms will search for all records with one term OR the other (this is a broader search tool).
Using AND between words will search for all records with BOTH or ALL search terms applied.
If you use NOT between the terms, it will search for the FIRST word in your search string and NOT the other.
Collection of databases with ebooks and thousands of full text articles from journals, magazines, newspapers. Includes primary sources, images, and videos. Includes Academic Search Complete, AAS Historical Historical Periodicals Collection, and Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America.
(New) JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collection
JSTOR’s Arts and Sciences Collections offer full-text access to hundred of titles in many disciplines of the arts, humanities, sciences, social sciences, business and education. (If you're off campus, please click on the link on the library's POD page).
Search balanced coverage of events in U.S. History. Updated daily.
Access balanced coverage of events in World History and scholarly work being established in the field.
ProQuest African American Heritage
ProQuest African American Heritage is groundbreaking digital resource exclusively devoted to African American family history research. This collection was created in partnership with leading African American genealogists and recognized leaders in genealogical information to develop a comprehensive mix of resources, records, and tools specifically pertaining to African Americans.
Time Magazine Archive, 1923-2000
An extensive collection of the prominent weekly news magazine dating back to its first issue in March 1923 through December 2000, presented in a comprehensive cover to cover format.
Life Magazine Archive, 1936-2000
A comprehensive cover to cover collection of Life Magazine issues, from November 1936-December 2000, including images.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Austin American-Statesman (1871-1980)
This archive includes back issues from the Austin American Statesman from 1871-1980. It provides genealogists, researchers, and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society, and events of the time.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The El Paso Times (1881-2009)
This archive includes back issues of the El Paso Times from 1881-2009 and El Paso Herald Post (1896-1996), plus related titles. It provides coverage of news and events, with a focus on far west Texas and the Texas-Mexico border region.
(New) HeinOnline
HeinOnline is the world's largest fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of both U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and the US Congressional Serial Set and state constitutions.
Texas Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970
Digital Sanborn Maps provides digital access to 2118 large-scale historical maps of 436 Texas towns and cities.
The Portal to Texas History is a gateway to rare, historical, and primary source materials from or about Texas.
Fold3® provides convenient access to military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served.
HeritageQuest Online combines digital, searchable images of U.S. federal census records with the digitized version of the popular ProQuest Genealogy & Local History collection and other valuable content. Powered by Ancestry with more than 4.4 billion records and coverage dating back to the 1700s.
Discover the world's most influential people by searching narrative biographies, news, magazine, and multimedia content.
Gale OneFile: Military and Intelligence
Search scholarly journals, magazines, and reports covering all aspects of past and present military affairs. Updated daily.
Gale OneFile: War and Terrorism
Gain valuable insights into conflicts and their causes, impact, and perception on a global scale.
Contains ACC course catalogs, ACC yearbooks, and some issues of the Alvin Sun.
