Databases are a great place to start your search for scholarly articles since they provide the opportunity to search across a huge number of publications at once. A list of databases relevant to Computer Science Information Technology can be found at the bottom of this page.
TIP: When using the databases, try BOOLEAN searching.
Boolean describes the connecting word you use between your search terms such as AND, OR, & NOT. Using these connectors allows you the ability to link search terms, so you can find articles that address multiple subjects.
These options are sometimes found in drop down menus where you enter your search terms, or you will have to enter them yourself between terms. In EBSCO databases, you can find Boolean terms in drop down menus to the left of the fields where you enter your search terms.
Adding OR between search terms will search for all records with one term OR the other (this is a broader search tool).
Using AND between words will search for all records with BOTH or ALL search terms applied.
If you use NOT between the terms, it will search for the FIRST word in your search string and NOT the other.
Gale OneFile: Computer Science
Access leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries.
Gale OneFile: Information Science
Access articles covering all aspects of managing and maintaining information and technology. Updated daily.
Collection of databases with ebooks and thousands of full text articles from journals, magazines, newspapers. Includes primary sources, images, and videos.
ProQuest SciTech Premium Collection
The SciTech Premium Collection includes the Natural Science Collection and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.
Search all the ProQuest periodical and research databases in one place.
Interdisciplinary database with thousands of full text articles from academic journals.
Thousands of full text articles from general interest magazines.
Access major U.S. and international newspapers online to search articles by title, headline, date, or other fields.
