Databases are a great place to start your search for scholarly articles since they provide the opportunity to search across a huge number of publications at once. A list of databases relevant to Government can be found at the bottom of this page.
TIP: When using the databases, try BOOLEAN searching.
Boolean describes the connecting word you use between your search terms such as AND, OR, & NOT. Using these connectors allows you the ability to link search terms, so you can find articles that address multiple subjects.
These options are sometimes found in drop down menus where you enter your search terms, or you will have to enter them yourself between terms. In EBSCO databases, you can find Boolean terms in drop down menus to the left of the fields where you enter your search terms.
Adding OR between search terms will search for all records with one term OR the other (this is a broader search tool).
Using AND between words will search for all records with BOTH or ALL search terms applied.
If you use NOT between the terms, it will search for the FIRST word in your search string and NOT the other.
Collection of databases with ebooks and thousands of full text articles from journals, magazines, newspapers. Includes primary sources, images, and videos. EBSCO Help Guide
(New) HeinOnline
HeinOnline is the world's largest fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of both U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and the US Congressional Serial Set and state constitutions.
(New) JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collection
JSTOR’s Arts and Sciences Collections offer full-text access to hundred of titles in many disciplines of the arts, humanities, sciences, social sciences, business and education. (If you're off campus, please click on the link on the library's POD page: https://portal.alvincollege.edu/campusservices/library/Pages/default.aspx). JSTOR Help Guide
Gale OneFile: Environmental Studies and Policy
Investigate environmental issues with diverse perspectives from the scientific community, policymakers, and corporate interests. Gale Help Guide
Gale OneFile: Military and Intelligence
Search scholarly journals, magazines, and reports covering all aspects of past and present military affairs. Updated daily.
Gale OneFile: War and Terrorism
Gain valuable insights into conflicts and their causes, impact, and perception on a global scale.
The Military Database covers topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering, and more.
Interdisciplinary database with thousands of full text articles from academic journals.
Academic Video Online makes video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, and more. Search for award-winning films including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners and access content from PBS, BBC, 60 MINUTES, National Geographic, Annenberg Learner, BroadwayHD™, A+E Networks’ HISTORY® and more.
Thousands of full text articles from general interest magazines.
College level information on a variety of hot topics.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, and more.
Access major U.S. and international newspapers online to search articles by title, headline, date, or other fields.
Gale PowerSearch is s search platform unlike any other, providing libraries with a sophisticated, yet simple solution for managing a wealth of periodical, reference, multimedia, and primary source information.
Search all the ProQuest periodical and research databases in one place.